After a long two and a half weeks in Italy, my brother and I spent a little over a week traveling in Spain. We started out our trip in Madrid – we stayed at a hostel and met a brother and sister who were doing a trip similar to ours and a number of other students and young people on summer vacation. We LOVED Madrid. The people were very friendly, we had a mix of traditional Spanish  cuisine (paella…yum!) and international fare, and I was able to spend a bit of time with one of my college friends Isa who now lives and works in Madrid.

We were sad to leave Madrid after only three nights but were happily surprised by the beauty of Barcelona when we arrived to this busy beach city. We took a walking tour of the Gothic Quarter during our first full day, visited the Picasso museum with a guy we met from Washington and spent a fair amount of time people watching on the various beaches. Here are some of my favorite pictures from our time in Spain:


