Tags

, , ,

  1. Strawberry Mojito Cocktail
  2. Passion Fruit and Mint Cooler
  3. The Perfect Mint Julep

I tried my first Mint Julep last summer on a hot afternoon in Washington, D.C. with two friends from high school. I spent the summer as an intern in the U.S. Senate and was lucky to be able to spend a lot of my time with friends from high school who were also working in the area. My friend Joe – a high school friend who currently goes to school in Georgia – was working as an intern for Boston Scientific that summer and lived on the George Washington University campus. One weekend my friend Jessica came into town and we spent an afternoon with Joe who made us one of his southern specialty drinks – Mint Juleps. I was skeptical at first as he crushed in the sugar, ice cubes and fresh mint. But, after taking my first sip I was happily surprised by the cool and refreshing taste! I’m never very good at concocting my own drinks but after doing a little searching online {and thanks to the White on Rice Couple blog} I was able to find a few other mint recipes that seem perfect for the {hopefully} upcoming warm weather.

