Tags

, ,

{not looking forward to the prices – photo via sparkling ink}

When I was a kid I always looked forward to going to the Farmers’ Market in Minneapolis in the summertime. I always loved getting fresh corn on the cob and honey sticks, helping my mom pick out a bouquet of flowers for our kitchen and listening {or dancing} to music from local musicians. The market is located right next to the Basilica of Saint Mary, a Minneapolis landmark and right at the corner of two parks that frame the Uptown and Downtown areas. Though I no longer attend church at the Basilica, I still love heading downtown for a walk around Loring Park or the Sculpture Garden and spending the late morning at the Farmers’ Market.

Madison’s Farmers’ Market has an entirely different flavor from the music and flower-filled scene at the Minneapolis market. Since moving to Madison I’ve really enjoyed getting up early on Saturday mornings, heading down to the Capitol and following the tightly packed crowd around the various fruit, flower and vegetable booths. This might be my last spring in Madison so I’m hoping I get a chance to spend as many Saturdays at the Capitol as possible. The market officially opens {outdoors} on April 16 – I hope to see you there!

 

