Tags

, , ,

I tried out this vegan recipe this weekend and the muffins turned out better than any non-vegan muffins I’ve ever made! Muffins often either turn out dry or cake-like – however, these muffins were perfectly moist because of the banana and light and fluffy because of recipe’s call for pastry flour.

  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons egg replacer (dry)
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup blueberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners.
  2. In a large bowl combine mashed bananas, sugar, baking powder, salt and flours; mix until smooth. In a small bowl or cup combine egg replacer and water; stir into banana mixture. Fold in blueberries.
  3. Spoon batter evenly, about 1/4 cup each, into muffin cups.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

{Recipe courtesy of allrecipes.com, images courtesy of pinterest.com}

Since becoming a vegetarian I’ve been on the lookout for new recipes and have stumbled across a few vegan recipes I’m also interested in trying. Although I don’t think I could ever become a vegan (at least not in the near future), I do like experimenting with vegan recipes. Here are some recipes I want to check out soon:

